The SAFE Design Standard® (Security Achieved through Functional Environmental Design) is a scholarly-based crime reduction certification through design methodology aimed at reducing crime through functional planning, landscape architecture, architecture, engineering, interior design, and space programming.

  • The SAFE Design Standard® approach brings a corporate consistency of approach that can be replicated for organizations with multiple locations.
  • Assessment reports will be prepared using a standardized approach and the data sets employed are comparable from site to site, offering an excellent source for internal analysis and comparison.
  • The consistency in both application and underpinning academic rigor, is what separates SAFE Design from other approaches to security assessment.
  • It is the most significant advance in reducing crime through design for the past decade.
  • It is the first ever certification program of its type.
  • In contrast to other commonly known and applied design principles used, SAFE Design has a multi-level assessment which includes analysis of site user risk (SUR), social context risk (SCR), and community level risk.
  • It addresses policies and maintenance as primary and security controls and technologies as secondary measures, exploring more discreet options before overt building hardening options. This reduces the use of fortress measures which send negative signals to community users.


Lions Gate Risk Management Group is the first independent security consultancy company to undergo SAFE 100 and SAFE 200 training and to receive security company accreditation from the SAFE Design Council and field SAFE Design Accredited Professionals™ (SAFE-APs™).  This association with the SAFE Design Council and the SAFE Design Standard® has developed with recognition from the program founders that Lions Gate possesses in combination, quite unique personnel, skills and knowledge to add value to the program.

Click here for support


All properties certified as meeting the SAFE Design Standard® undergo a rigorous and comprehensive multi-phase assessment that denotes reasonable and prudent steps have been taken to reduce both the risk and fear of crime. Central to the SAFE Design Standard® is providing organizations with a new, innovative, and effective way to minimize their exposure to litigation and occupational health and safety claims.  Simply, any organization whose property is accessible by employees or members of the public, have a duty of care to safeguard against crime (including violence in the workplace).  All organizations have a duty of care to their clients and employees to safeguard against criminal risks – specifically, organizations must be aware of possible: Occupiers Liability » Occupational Health & Safety Claims » Vicarious Liability.

Since all properties certified as meeting the SAFE Design Standard® undergo a comprehensive risk analysis and property assessment, including periodic recertification, those who adopt the SAFE Design Standard® can take comfort knowing the security at their buildings and sites have been evaluated by qualified crime reduction through design specialists using the most up-to-date and scholarly-informed crime reduction through design methodology.

In short, by achieving the SAFE Design Standard®, a certified organization will benefit by:

  • Discouraging lawyers (particularly ones hired on a contingency fee basis) from initiating litigation.
  • Avoiding possible Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) claims that result from allegations of workplace violence.
  • Having the expert and scholarly-informed resources of the SAFE Design Council available should a civil lawsuit arise.

Click here for support

Are you ready to connect with a
Lions Gate team member?

get in touch